I would bare my gums, utter a giggle and you, with those little lips, would laugh in squeaks

I would start crying, and then stop, while tears would still stain your cheeks

You would complain, I wouldn’t even know whom, and still hate

I would wish to return home, the few days when you would be late.

 

We were supposed to walk all the alleys, choose pleasantries, sit on the sand while the ripples would shine in the sun

We were supposed to grow up together, and live the dreams that your absence has left undone

We were to celebrate our firsts, laugh at our mistakes, pacify our quibbles, with each other

How then do my memories not exist for you when yours clench me at the throat and make me shudder?

Leave a Reply

